Posted by: amyloublog | May 21, 2008

The finale that rocked the world

Ok I haven’t had very much to share lately, or at least anything blogworthy. The past 10 days have been a downer of sorts as I have played nurse to a toddler with double ear infections and bronchitis.  However, the sun has risen again in our household and we are seeing the storm lift.  Sad as it is, the highlights of my week have been the TV/reality show finales. DWTS was oh so predictable and I was ready for AI to be more of the same tonight.  I didn’t have very high expectations for the show and expected to suffer through the cheesiness, only to last to the end to see the David A. crowned and all the teenie-boppers rejoice. While I watched my favorite from the beginning humbly assume the role of runner up.

Can I just say that I was oh so pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed the show.  First of all, I am a child of the 80s. And boy did this show cater.  I mean, come on…Bryan Adams, Seal, ZZ Top, Simmer Don-na (aka Donna Summer), and the King of my college days, George Michael. Oh how I played that CD so much in college it’s only a miracle it still works. Sorry Paulie for never giving it back.  I have to admit that I was wondering how the teenie-boppers would take it, since the Jonas Brothers only did a short thing. Most of the show was geared toward us 30/quickly approaching *ahem* 40 somethings. And who didn’t laugh out loud at Cook’s version of the Tom Cruise t-shirt dance, that commericial was SWEET!

Anyhow….was I shocked or what that Cook was crowned the winner. I think most of America is stunned. I thought little A had it in the bag.  Oh I do love a stunner….an upset. Something unexpected in a sea of predictability.  I will treasure this moment in reality TV for years.

And now internets, you know just how lame I am.  Seacrest, OUT!

Responses

  1. Would that be the Listen Without Prejudice cd? I wondered where that went . . .

    I’m sorry to say that I got bored with Idol pretty quickly this season. My favorites got voted out earlier than they deserved to, and the Davids have talent, but they just bored me. Especially Archuleta. Aiken Jr. He’ll probably have a good broadway career or something, but I can’t see myself ever listening to a CD of his. Unless I’m shopping somewhere.


Leave a Reply

Categories

