Posted by: amyloublog | July 23, 2008

Weight loss update

I haven’t posted an update lately of my WLS journey.  Only 5.4 pounds to go till I reach my goal of 125. This morning I am 130.4…oh the 120s are so close I can almost taste them. (good pun there, Amy)   The surgeon says the “window of opportunity” for weight loss is 18 months. Although you can certainly still lose after that, that’s just the average span and then people tend to maintain and level off.  I will be 17 months this weekend. I am still amazed how far I have come in this journey. It takes longer mentally to let the change sink in.  I am just now getting adjusted to the newer me in the mirror.  Just now picking the right size clothes on the rack, first time out. Last weekend I went shopping (which is really getting to be a transfer addiction) and bought a skirt/top combo in the petite section (it’s so good to be home) and YA’LL I am in a petite medium. Can you believe it?  From a size 24 to an 8/10! 

I have really noticed a difference in my energy levels in the past few months.  Recently I bit the bullet and bought a nice treadmill off craigslist. Now I just need to get in the habit of using it daily. I have not exercised diligently since this journey began.  I am lucky and shocked that my excess skin has, for the most part, been minimal in my arms and lower legs. Let’s not talk about thighs and tummy…let’s just say they are waiting for their ship to come in so they can get “plastics” (aka a major tuck).

Well enough of the update, I need to go hide….my 3 year old is running over me with his remote control Tow Mater.  Gotta love that movie.

Responses

  1. Congratulations! You have done just awesome!
    I seem to be going down about a pound a week since my op so if this continues I should be hopefully where you are in another 15 months!
    I love my band!


Leave a Reply

Categories

