Posted by: amyloublog | August 9, 2008

Great weekend, great weather!

Oh what a fun weekend. We spent Saturday together as a family, just the three of us. First time for this in ages and well overdue, I must say. 

We decided to head to the big city, Charlotte that is.  I needed my Target and Trader Joe’s fix.  And J needed his Monkey Joe fix. Monkey Joe’s is a huge warehouse sized place, similar to Chuckie Cheese, it’s full of HUGE inflatables. I mean one is 20 feet high and about 5 car lengths long. J is fearless and jumps right in with the big kids. The first time he went my parents took him, Hubs and I were celebrating our 10th in Savannah. My Mom said “Before we knew it he was 20 feet up an inflatable rock climbing thing. I held my breath and started praying.”  While the boys took in MJ’s, I headed to Target for a little retail therapy. Oh my, alone shopping with no one begging me to buy a truck and trailer, or something with a hitch on it. It was divine.

Then we ventured into downtown on the new LYNX light-rail train.  Little did we know, the Panthers were gearing up for their first preseason home game. So we rode with tons of fans dressed in black & blue, eager to see Jake D. (Carolina QB) return to the field to attempt to beat those COLTS. (no comment from you Tracy, lol)   The LYNX was super clean and really fun. It has big picture windows and a great view of all the jet airplanes (J was thrilled).  We walked around downtown, took in a couple of skyscrapers and landed at the Mimosa Grill for dinner. Very yuppie place (do they still say that word?).  J and I split a wood fired pizza with grilled chicken, chiorizo sausage, roasted asparagus, sun-dried tomatoes and some fine cheeses. It was like butter!  Hubs had a beef brisket burger with Gruyere cheese, excuse me. It too was like butter. But the salad dressing on my mixed greens was to die for, lime/ginger vinaigrette. OH MY LANDS!  Since this weight loss journey I have learned to really enjoy my food, just in moderation. And enjoy I did.  Now we are all worn out, but still reeling from our super fun day.

What did you do for fun this weekend?

Responses

  1. We didn’t do anything nearly as fun….had a birthday sleepover and then I did my grocery shopping while the boys went to see Prince Caspian at the dollar theatre….weekends should be longer I think!

    Do you seriously not have Target near where you live? I’m SO SORRY for you…..I don’t know what I would do without my Target!


Leave a Reply

Categories

